We never thought we wanted a conservatory, it wasn’t on the list but when we viewed this house and pushed the budget right to the edge, we knew we had to have it. As someone who gets hayfever and sunburns easily I have never been a complete convert to the outdoors. I do love nature and a bit of fresh air and so even a scrap of garden would have been nice when we moved out from our flat, but now I am totally in love with the garden we have and our beautiful warm (when it’s sunny) conservatory.

I have been busy in garden the last few weeks/months and i’ve neglected this room, leaving all of my DIY items strewn about the place. This doesn’t bother me but it doesn’t look particularly inviting for anyone else so it was time for a bit of a makeover and to make the room comfortable but also useful. A little bit messy:

The tall cabinet in the corner blocked the view to the garden and the ottoman, although useful, wasn’t quite what was needed. (Ok, actually I was worried for it when people sat on it!) So, on Friday myself and a friend took a day off work for an IKEA expedition. The results follow.

On the right (as you look outside) I now have a unit with various plastic drawers to pop some of my gardening things in. They will never stay in the shed so they may as well have a place to live here instead of on the chairs! There is even a drawer for Ruby Dog when she visits with her own bowl and tennis balls, lucky girl. On top of the new unit are some seedlings starting off but when these are planted out this can be used as safe seating, no ottoman panic!

P1020542 - Copy

The next new item is this bench with a big drawer. Safe to sit on and a great hideaway for all the welly boots and chicken keeper shoes!

P1020543

The room is now much more functional and inviting, and today I got to look out at the glorious sunshine, so glorious as we face South that it was the first outing this year for the parasol!

P1020540

A decent Spring clean I think!

Mother of Hens x

